GENERAL ELECTION

COUNTING OF BALLOT PAPERS AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTION RESULTS

Ballot papers will be counted at 61 Counting Centres. There are nine Principal Counting Centres where ballot counts for respective electoral divisions will be tallied. The Counting Centres for each electoral division is attached (Annex).

2 Counting will begin as soon as the ballot boxes from each Polling Station have reached the counting locations after the close of the poll at 8 pm on Saturday, 3 November 2001.

3 A candidate may appoint counting agents to witness the counting of ballot papers. Admission of counting agents to specific Counting Places will be by special passes issued by the Returning Officer. Candidates are to obtain the passes for their counting agents by Friday, 2 November, from the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949.

4 Election results will be announced by the Returning Officer at the Announcement Centre located at the Elections Department. The announcements will be broadcast live over the local TV and radio networks.

ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT 30 OCTOBER 2001

Annex

List of Principal Counting	Centres and	Counting	Centres

	Constituency	Principal Counting Centres	Counting Centres	
1	Ayer Rajah	Kent Ridge Secondary School	 Ayer Rajah Community Centre Qifa Primary School (2 centres) 	
2	Bukit Timah	Fuhua Primary School	 Clementi Primary School Nan Hua Primary School Yuqun Primary School (3 centres) 	
3	Chua Chu Kang	West View Primary School	 Chua Chu Kang Community Club South View Primary School Teck Whye Secondary School (3 centres) 	
4	Hougang	White Sands Primary School	 Holy Innocents' Primary School Serangoon Junior College (2 centres) 	
5	Hong Kah	Fuhua Primary School	 Bukit Gombak Community Centre Bukit Panjang Govt High School Concord Primary School Dazhong Primary School De La Salle School Juying Primary School Nanyang Community Club Pioneer Primary School St Anthony's Primary School Unity Primary School (10 centres) 	
6	Jalan Besar	Singapore Conference Hall	 Bendemeer Primary School Boon Keng Primary School Bukit Ho Swee Primary School Hong Wen School ITE West (Balestier) Kallang Community Club Kim Seng Community Club Stamford Primary School Woodsville Primary School (10 centres) 	
7	Jurong	Fuhua Primary School	 Boon Lay Primary School Bukit Batok Community Club Bukit Timah Community Club Bukit View Primary School Fuhua Primary School Hua Yi Secondary School Jurong Primary School Princess Elizabeth Primary School Yuhua Primary School (9 centres) 	

8	Joo Chiat	Temasek Primary School	 CHIJ (Katong) Primary School Haig Girls' School (2 centres)
9	MacPherson	Ngee Ann Primary School	 Geylang Methodist Secondary School MacPherson Community Club MacPherson Secondary School (3 centres)
10	Nee Soon Central	Greenwood Primary School	 Northland Primary School Yishun Junior College (2 centres)
11	Nee Soon East	Greenwood Primary School	 ITE East (Yishun) North View Secondary School (2 centres)
12	Potong Pasir	Ngee Ann Primary School	 Braddell Primary School Cedar Primary School (2 centres)
13	Tampines	Poi Ching School	 East Spring Primary School East View Primary School Junyuan Primary School Pasir Ris South Community Club Poi Ching School Qiaonan Primary School Springfield Secondary School Tampines East Community Club Tampines North Primary School Tampines Primary School Yumin Primary School (11 centres)
		9 Principal Counting Centres	61 Counting Centres